Should Writing With A Purpose Be The Purpose Of Writing?

Maybe … but I cannot do it that way.

I just need to start writing again. Period.

I’ve spent a great deal of time the last few months thinking a lot and writing nothing while trying move through the grief of severe personal loss and attempting unsuccessfully to get past writer’s block that has me convinced that every word I put down here has to be something that has “weight”, or causes someone to think, or just makes someone laugh or cry. I’ve shackled myself with these sorts of expectations long enough. Time to break free!

So today, I’m simply jump-starting the process by writing about … getting back into the habit of writing.

Not writing with any sort of preconceived purpose. But, writing because I need to be ready.  I need to be in the habit, so that when the moment arrives that something weighty, thought-provoking, or emotionally stimulating enters my mind, I won’t hesitate … it will spontaneously travel through my fingertips and onto the page without undue analysis that creates doubt slowing down and stifling the creative urge.

So, that’s my plan today.  

So far, so good.

About Judson

Late bloomer ... aspiring writer and musician.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Should Writing With A Purpose Be The Purpose Of Writing?

  1. This is clearly no small task for you, and I admire your willingness to admit it, and to put previous ideas behind you and dive back into the deep end.

    I’ve found that holding back (for the fear of) having “nothing” to say does nothing to further your craft. It is writing that makes writing better. Yes, thinking is important. Observing, noting, and tying things together all help, but it is the putting words to paper (or screen) that grows us.

    If one allows his craft to suffer while awaiting inspiration, the chances are that that craft will not be up to the challenge when the ideas hit.

    I believe that anyone who has lived, who has experienced the highs and lows of life, has something to say… has something to contribute.

    Allowing yourself to move ahead, to strengthen your craft. Be ready…. and, good luck!

  2. Maggie says:

    Good luck!

  3. territerri says:

    So glad to see you back. I’ve always enjoyed your writing.

Leave a Reply

