What once was old is now new again!

Have you ever had the opportunity to revisit you youth?

As a teenager in 1967, I was the lucky recipient of this Silvertone guitar made by the Harmony Company and sold through Sears.

It was my first acoustic guitar after several years of playing electrics and I have to admit that even though I appreciated it, I really didn’t know a whole lot about taking care of a musical instrument that was carefully crafted out of delicate wood.

Subsequently, over the years, my guitar was subjected to all sorts of environmental and physical abuse that resulted in it ending up the pitiful example in the “before” photo on the left…

Recently, I was fortunate enough to make the acquaintance of a fellow who just loves to recondition old guitars and he took mine on as a project.

I would estimate that he devoted probably $1,000 worth of time and effort into restoring my old guitar from high school to better than new condition, as seen in the “after” photo on the right … and now he is going to give it back to me at an extremely reasonable price (only $225!!).

So, what once was old is now new again.

And that goes for me as much as for my guitar!

About Judson

Late bloomer ... aspiring writer and musician.
This entry was posted in music, nostalgia, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

