Pushing 100 and still having fun!?! We should all be so lucky!

What could be better than to be pushing 100 and still having fun??

I just watched a TCM special featuring the actor Ernest Borgnine who when the segment was filmed, was well into his 90s’. The guy is amazing! He’s coherent, articulate, compelling and most of all … interesting!

What a great life!

To have done the things he’s done and lived the life he’s lived and to still be enjoying yourself at that age. Isn’t that everybody’s dream?

Seriously?

He’s outlived all of his contemporaries and he’s still going strong. He may die tomorrow, but damn! Even if he’s gone tomorrow, what a great life!

I dunno. I’m 62 … about 35 years younger than Ernest Borgnine and I’m not at all sure that my next 35 years (if I’m lucky enough to experience them) will be half as great as what he seems to have had!

Wow! To be pushing 100 and still be having fun!

About Judson

Late bloomer ... aspiring writer and musician.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pushing 100 and still having fun!?! We should all be so lucky!

  1. territerri says:

    Based on all of the “older generation” people I’ve known, I would never expect to be healthy and capable in my 90’s. I wouldn’t expect to be healthy and capable in my 70’s. I should expect to be long gone before I hit 90.

    Wow. Scary thoughts. If I do live that long, I hope I can enjoy those years!

    • Judson says:

      Sadly, Ernest Borgnine appears to be an anomoly! Most of us won’t make it that long and those who do probably will not be having fun. I did meet a womnan who just turned 101 a few weeks ago. She’s lovely and cojld pass for 70 any day! Unfortunately, she’s probably one in 100,000 or so … As the Stones once sang … “What a drag it is getting old!”

  2. nrhatch says:

    I love seeing people still enjoying life in their 90’s and 80’s ~ George Burns, Ernest Borgnine, and a great aunt of mine.

    I’m not sure that I’ll be able to sustain my enthusiasm that long. 😆

Leave a Reply

