Blame it on Me, Myself … and Irene.

Chicago … Chicago … that invisible town?

Recently, I had to make a presentation at a conference in Chicago.

One of the things I like about my job is that over the years I’ve had the opportunity to travel a great deal and I’ve been able to experience a lot of places in this country and around the world.

Chicago is a city I’ve visited 3-4 times now and while it doesn’t provide the overall fascination of a trip to New York, London, or Paris, Chicago in the fall of the year can be a very pleasant destination.

But, only if you have the chance to get out of the hotel, which unfortunately this time I didn’t.

So … Blame it on Me, Myself and Irene.

Blame it on Me … because I didn’t do what I usually do. I didn’t build in an extra day on the beginning or the end of the business portion of the trip just to enjoy the location.

Blame it on Myself … mostly because I told myself that after numerous trips to the Windy City, I could use the remainder of the day on the front end of the trip after my flight to do everything I needed to do.

But mostly …

Blame it on Irene … that pesky storm that crept up the east coast so unpredictably, playing havoc with airline schedules and causing my flight to arrive after midnight instead of 10 am that morning.

Subsequently, I missed out on all of my fun time, as I spent the rest of the trip stuck in the hotel before catching a flight back home never having seen Chicago in the light of day the entire time!

Oh well … what did I miss that I hadn’t seen before anyway? I guess I’ll never know.

If I could ever have a trip planned when the Cubs were in town it would finally complete my Chicago experience! I’m not a Cubs fan … not even a really hardcore major league baseball fan. But, I am a fan of nostalgic settings and Wrigley Field is among the best!

So far I haven’t seen the Cubs play in Wrigley. The only time that was set to occur, another much bigger situation took place … I was due to fly out on September 12, 2001.

I was fully prepared for that Chicago trip and nothing was going to get in the way of my Wrigley Field visit! I had already bought my Cubs ticket online. A coveted seat in the “bleachers” behind the ivy covered outfield wall, where the most rabid fans sit and where heckling is an art form and where opponent home run balls are thrown back out onto the field with disdain!

It was going to be great!!

And, I actually still have that ticket, un-used of course.

I hold onto it, not so much as a souvenir of baseball, as a reminder of 9/11 and how it changed all our lives … in some small and trivial ways like missing a ball game. And in many more huge and life altering ways that help put everything else in perspective.

This past trip, my flight to Chicago was delayed a few hours and I missed out on a little funtime.

Ten years ago, my entire life was put on hold and I haven’t recovered yet.

About Judson

Late bloomer ... aspiring writer and musician.
This entry was posted in nostalgia, sports, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blame it on Me, Myself … and Irene.

  1. nrhatch says:

    Wonderful post, Judson!

    I’ve been to one major league baseball game . . . Fenway Park in Boston. Wrigley Field would be FUN to experience. Hope you get the chance to do just that.

  2. territerri says:

    That is a bummer that you didn’t get any down time during your trip. But your baseball ticket from September 12th definitely gives it perspective.

Leave a Reply

