Do You Have a Job without Aggravation ??

I was in a band in high school and college. 

We were popular locally and we managed to get bookings pretty much every weekend providing us with that rarest of privileges … getting paid for doing what you love to do.

Someone once observed, “If you have a job with no aggravation, you don’t have a job.”  The implication being that almost every job has some form of aggravation that comes along with it, otherwise, it’s a hobby.  Since most jobs involve solving some sort of problem, it seems like aggravating circumstances are almost necessary for the job to exist.

But, back to the idea of getting paid to do what you love to do. 

It’s important to make your living doing something you have a passion for.  Something that makes you look forward to going to work.   If you do what you love to do, when the aggravation comes around, you’re better equipped to deal with it because you actually like what you’re doing. 

The work I’ve done for most of my career is not something that I have loved.  But, it’s not something that I’ve hated either.  I’ve done well, and it’s hard for me to complain too very much.  Nothing is much worse than toiling away doing something that you don’t enjoy and being constantly aggravated in the bargain.  That’s not what I’ve faced.

But, I loved playing music and getting paid for it.  I should have pursued that more passionately.  Sadly, the stigma back then was that making a decent living as a performing musician was not a fit occupation.  You needed to go to college, graduate and get a real job.

Eventually, all my band-mates scattered and I graduated college and got a series of “real” jobs, pretty much putting down my guitar and my aspirations as an artist and moving on with my life. 

And boy, did my life fly by at mach speed??  Suddenly, I find myself near retirement age. 

Nearing that point in life when I hope to once again be able to pick and choose what I do, I recently took up the guitar again.  After shaking off the rust, I play a couple of hours a day and I’m regaining my form in spite of slightly arthritic fingers and a 30+ year layoff.

Even though I’m still working my “day” job for now, my dream is to moonlight on the open-mike, coffee house circuit.  Maybe you’ll even find me “busking” in the city park with a smile on my face and my guitar case open  to donations. 

Don’t laugh!  Perhaps they’re not “real jobs”, but what’s not real about having the opportunity to get paid  for doing what you love to do.

At some point soon, I won’t need to make a lot of money from my work.  In retirement, I will just need something to keep me occupied, that provides a few bucks to supplement my pension. 

In the spirit of the reason I started this blog in the first place, I am becoming the late bloomer once again. 

Aspiring to be a writer.

     Aspiring to be a musical performer.

          Aspiring to be happy … no matter how long it takes!.

About Judson

Late bloomer ... aspiring writer and musician.
This entry was posted in music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do You Have a Job without Aggravation ??

  1. Maggie says:

    Go for it! Some people are lucky enough to have a job that is their passion, but if your job isn’t your passion, then by all means – pursue something that will make you happy outside of work!

  2. nrhatch says:

    Do what you love . . . the money will follow. So glad that you’re returning to the passions of youth. 😀

Leave a Reply

