Sometimes Things Just Work Out Right

Sometimes things just work out exactly the way you’d planned them.

When that happens, you owe it to yourself to mark the occasion and to remember it.

Down the road, you’ll find yourself caught up in a frustrating situation … something will happen that will have you wondering why nothing EVER goes as planned.

On that day, it will help to be able to sequence back through the little “notes to self” you’ve recorded in order to prove that occasionally things do go as planned. 

     That’s what I’m doing right now.  And here’s why.

Before taking the entire week of July 4th off from work, I had made a little wish/prayer that I could experience a totally uneventful week.

Of course, I didn’t mean that I wanted absolutely nothing to happen, but I fervently hoped that nothing bad would happen and in exchange, I would gladly accept that nothing particularly grand happened either.

If you’re like me (and in this respect, I sincerely hope you’re not) you spend a great deal of time worrying.  You’re always waiting for “the other shoe to drop” as they say.

     I am a self-confessed, self-diagnosed chronic “worry wart”.

While most people would look forward to enjoying the best week ever, I was just hoping that it would not turn out to be the worst week ever. 

     Sad isn’t it?

Well, anyway, I am happy to report that I just had one of the most benign weeks of my life! 

     Absolutely nothing bad happened! 

And in the meantime, while nothing grand occurred either, I was lucky enough to have my grown children gather with my teenage daughter and my wife for a wonderful few days and then to have them return to their homes safely.

     Perhaps not “grand” in the largest scheme of things, but pretty darn nice.

The rest of my week was spent (invested, really) in a successful low-key, pressure-free attempt at mental decompression.  I got things accomplished, but I did them on my terms and at my pace.  I did not strain my brain.

     I’m back at work now. 

Fortunately, a lot of other people take off the week of July 4th and thus, I have returned to my desk to find minimal accumulation of stress-inducing stuff that needed to be taken care of “yesterday” …

Yes, I’m still me and I  can already feel myself  “compressing” again.  I can see the proverbial shoes getting ready to drop and can already imagine the negative ramifications of waiting for the other shoes to fall.

     Some habits are just hard to break.

But, when the next shoe does fall, I will pull this blog back up and I will recall that wonderful week when everything went exactly according to plan …

About Judson

Late bloomer ... aspiring writer and musician.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sometimes Things Just Work Out Right

  1. Judson, good post!

    You make several points in this post, but I’d like to hightlight one of them. You speak of taking note of it when things work out just the way you planned. Hear, hear!

    I’ve always believed in stopping and marking those moments in life where things are just right. For some reason, we (human types) don’t seem to do that as much as we could. Rather, we let the things that don’t work out, the pain, the mistakes, the embarrassments… the negative occurances, mark themselves, and mark they do, for they are much stronger in our lives than our successes.

    The things that go wrong make X’s on our calendars all by themselves. We have to take the initiative to make historical those things that work well!

  2. nrhatch says:

    Wonderful!

    Both that you enjoyed a week of “just being” and that the Universe cooperated with your desire for an uneventful week.

    It is easy to allow our thoughts to travel along “well worn paths” . . . gravitating to worry about the future and obsessing about the past. But we can create new pathways and new habits by remaining mindful of our thoughts while asking . . . Is it TRUE, HELPFUL, INFORMATIVE, NECESSARY, and KIND?

    When we T.H.I.N.K. about our thoughts . . . we eliminate many non-productive worries.
    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/04/07/watch-your-thoughts/

    Master your thoughts . . . master your life. 😀

Leave a Reply

