Seeing Jesse Smile

I’ve been thinking lately about seeing Jesse smile.

Lately I’ve been wishing she’d stay home for a while.

I miss her when she leaves me and sometimes when she’s here.

I see her smile so seldom before it disappears.

     I’ve been hurting lately whenever Jesse cries.

     Lately I’ve been troubled by the stranger in her eyes.

     A blue-eyed wake-up call from God who caught us unaware,

     Jesse came into our lives with no time to prepare.

      For all these years,

          through joy and tears,

               she’s been our blessed child.

And I’ve been thinking lately …

… about seeing Jesse smile …

About Judson

Late bloomer ... aspiring writer and musician.
This entry was posted in music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Seeing Jesse Smile

  1. nrhatch says:

    Hope you’re both smiling again soon.

  2. lesliepaints says:

    This is absolutely beautiful, Judson… So many suffer from depression and others from frequent malaise. This touches everyone and could be a song. I truly believe it was written straight from the soul. I know it was a Father’s soul but could be anyone who loves someone.
    I look at sadness and tears a little differently than when I was younger. I read a book once that made sense. The little girl in the book said that sadness brought tears and that tears were not bad but just our soul washing our windows so we can see more clearly. It has served me well, this allowing myself a cleansing.

    • Judson says:

      Thank you so much Leslie … this was most definitely from the soul. And it is actually my initial attempt at song-writing. With music and everything … 🙂

      It is so hard to see your loved ones suffer and know really not too much you can do about it. but love them.

      — Judson

  3. nrhatch says:

    You might be interested in this post about “curing” her daughter’s depression:
    http://hugmamma.wordpress.com/2011/08/16/they-grow-up-in-spite-of/

    • Judson says:

      Thanks Nancy … very good advice from someone who’s obviously gone through it. We’ve discovered that listening and understanding are the most valuable things we can do to help her and ourselves as well. While I’m not confident in a cure per se, I believe that it can be dealt with effectively through better understanding and proper treatment.

Leave a Reply

