When you have the blues … Write a song?

I’ve had a case of the blues recently. 

This has probably been clear to anyone who cared.  My most recent post was weeks ago, and it was about the death of a friend. 

The fact is, I’ve lost my Mom, our dog, and now a string of three different friends in the past 18 months or so.  To top all this off, my teenaged daughter is currently mired in her own case of deep depression.

So, yes, it’s been tough.  And I’ve been in a funk.

I want to break out somehow. 

Writing this blog has provided a creative outlet for me for over a year now.  I’ve had no particular focus, I’ve just sort of run with a stream of consciousness sort of theme.  As you know, I write about pretty much anything that strikes my fancy.  These are my random musings … nothing more, nothing less.

Another of my creative outlets has been playing guitar.  I’ve played for most of my life, but only became really serious about it recently when I bought a new guitar that plays so effortlessly that it’s almost as if it has a soul of its own and has reached into mine.

Today, while thinking about how much I love playing and singing other people’s songs … mainly for my own personal consumption, it struck me that perhaps I could put my writing talent to use through music.

One of my roadblocks has been the fact that I’ve gotten this late in life while just puttering around at writing and playing, never having done anything particularly serious.  I kept putting things off until I got to the age and stage that it appeared to be  … too late.

Once I began to write this blog, I was assured by numerous people that it is NEVER too late.

     I agree …

          So wish me luck!

About Judson

Late bloomer ... aspiring writer and musician.
This entry was posted in music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to When you have the blues … Write a song?

  1. Hi, Judson
    Allow me to suggest that getting started doing creative things at any age is a valuable experience, one that opens you up to ideas and experiences that you might have missed earlier in your life. If my math is somewhat correct (you have a teenage daughter), you’re not so much a late-bloomer. (My daughter has teenage kids).
    Your post is well-written and heart-felt, and I suggest it will also be cathartic, if you let it be. People like to hear what is going on with others, especially if that other is taking his or her own life in hand, and making positive changes.
    Depression is no fun (speaking from experience), but it doesn’t have to take over entirely.
    The first purpose of life is to live. From there on, it is what you make of it.
    Good post. Keep writing!

  2. nrhatch says:

    When I stopped practicing law, I spent lots of time with my guitar, writing songs. I have a slew of “demo tapes” with some decent stuff on them.

    Enjoy the journey! Don’t worry about the destination. See where your music leads. 😀

  3. Maggie says:

    It doesn’t matter when you start as long as you’re enjoying yourself! Good luck!

  4. Dear Judson –

    I took up cycling at age 57, began riding competitively at age 59. I’ve actually placed in my age group and as a member of several relay teams in various triathlons. Life is a struggle. I can relate to your feelings, as I lost my mom and dad – had my first baby – bought our first home – lost my aunt – and nearly lost my mind within the period of a couple years… that was over 30 years ago. Life’s still a struggle – but then God never told us it would be easy – and well if He did say that, He never said it to me. But, He has promised to be in my struggles with me – and untangle things when I get them in a knot. Keep your chin up – your eyes on the finish line and continue pedaling.

    In Faith,
    Mary

    • Judson says:

      Mary …

      Thank you so much for the words of encouragement. This blog has been an important source of support as well as a creative outlet. I appreciate your kind input.

      — Judson

Leave a Reply

