Making “Scents” of it All … 5 Things I Really Like to Smell.

While I was out walking the trail near my house yesterday, I caught my first strong scent of this season’s honeysuckle and it reminded me how important our sense of smell is to our psychological state.

Just like certain songs inspire pleasant memories, there are certainly scents that cause pleasurable thoughts as well.

Of course, I love the smell of blooming honeysuckle because it reminds me of when I was a kid enjoying the freedom of playing all day in the woods without supervision or anxiety.

Along the same lines, I love the smell of newly mown Bermuda grass because it reminds me of  long summer Saturdays playing baseball on the large commons area at the university in the town where I grew up.

And who doesn’t like to smell cookies baking in the oven?  I love it so much that I buy cookie-scented candles just so I can enjoy a whiff whenever the mood strikes me … even if I’m not hungry.

Let’s face it … babies don’t always smell nice … but, there is that moment just after they’ve been bathed and had their bottoms sprinkled with powder … even though my kids are all pretty much grown now, catching the smell of baby powder will take me back to those days when holding that precious little being in your hands was the most amazing experience.

And finally … my favorite of all just may be the smell of fresh coffee perking as the sun rises.  Some people think the adage is wake up and smell the roses … I prefer wake up and smell the coffee.

What are your favorite scents??

About Judson

Late bloomer ... aspiring writer and musician.
This entry was posted in nostalgia, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Making “Scents” of it All … 5 Things I Really Like to Smell.

  1. nrhatch says:

    We have honeysuckle planted around the mailboxes on our street. Yummy!

    Also love cookies, baby powder, cookies, coffee, freshly mown grass, cookies, and vanilla.

  2. herby says:

    Hmmmm smells 🙂

    I love the smell of light fog rising from gullies filled with paperbarks because it smells like cross country season (not that I run cross country anymore).

    I love the smell of Joop perfume because it smells like my wife. And I love the smell of Tommy cologne mixed with cigarette smoke because it reminds me of when I fell in love with my wife when I would wear Tommy and she still smoked.

    I love the smell of Gardenias and Night Jasmine flowers because they tell me that summer holidays and Christmas are on their way (I’m in Australia where Christmas is in summer).

    • Judson says:

      I remember reading a comment by one of (the rock singer) Ricky Nelson’s sons after Rick died in the plane crash, that he was always reminded of his Dad whenever he smelled the combination of Polo cologne and cigarettes.

      — Judson

  3. territerri says:

    Fresh bread baking reminds me of my grandma’s house. I also love “fall” scents such as cloves, cinnamon and pumpkin. Yankee Candle makes a “Clean Cotton” scented candle that makes the house smell so fresh. Babies… certain colognes on a man… cookies baking…

Leave a Reply

