What Else Are You Afraid Of?

If you haven’t yet seen “The King’s Speech”, you should …

Following rave reviews and multiple Oscar’s, the film came out on DVD this past week and is available on pay-per-view as well.

Last week, I blogged about things that we fear, either rationally or irrationally.  Mine were tornadoes and tidal waves.

But, it’s well known that speaking in public is almost universally listed as the #1 greatest fear experienced by human beings!

Those of us who dread the call to speak in front of a group can only imagine the added anxiety we would feel if we suffered from a debilitating speech impediment and we were the figurative leader of our entire nation!

As a business person and a manager, I am frequently expected to speak publicly.  It’s never easy for me. 

Those who genuinely are not afraid to speak in front of a group have my sincere admiration. 

I’m more than a bit jealous.  These are people who will find greater success in life and in their careers because of the greater level of comfort they have with communicating verbally. 

It must feel great to be able to stand up in front of a group without fear and to do a superb job of communication.  People who are able to think on their feet and to bring the right words at the right time are simply amazing.

I know I’ll never be a great public speaker.  I’m getting better at it.  But, it will always be hard.

A while back, I took a very good class … the link takes you to the blog I wrote afterward.

https://judson2history.wordpress.com/2010/06/23/hey-im-dyin-up-here/

I am blessed myself … I have no problem communicating in writing and I suppose that’s a big plus for me, that a lot of people would envy.

     Even those with the “gift of gab”

About Judson

Late bloomer ... aspiring writer and musician.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What Else Are You Afraid Of?

  1. nrhatch says:

    Public Speaking is not a fear of mine, but I loved the King’s Speech.
    Very well done movie.

    If you’re interested:
    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/02/09/7-keys-to-effective-public-speaking/

    Excellent comments following the post.

    • Judson says:

      Some come about it naturally. Others have to work at it very harde. Winston Churchill was terrified the first time he had to address Parliament. Who’d have guessed it? for me the key to success is to be thoroughly prepared. I’,m not good at winging it … need to know the material down-pat.

      — Judson

  2. Maggie says:

    I hate public speaking with all my heart, but I found that for me, it gets easier if I do it every single day. I think I’d be decent at it if I did do it every single day, but I don’t think I’d like it.

  3. territerri says:

    I share your fear of public speaking. But I’m trying to overcome it. I actually volunteered for an opportunity today. I guess that’s progress, but like you, I’ll never be truly comfortable with it and probably will never be great at it.

  4. brittany220 says:

    Public speaking can be terrifying, and I too admire those that can just do a superb job of communicating on the spot in front of a group. I just joined toastmasters and it’s already made me less scared about public speaking amazingly enough. One of my goals for this year is to confront my fear of public speaking so that is why I joined.

    • Judson says:

      HI Brittany … I have always believed that familiarity decreases anxiety. I have found that when I have to speak in public on a regular basis, I get a lot more comfortable, and then when I don’t do it for a while, I have to get comfortable all over again.

      thanks for visiting.

      — Judson

Leave a Reply

