Does This Make Me Crazy? … Possibly. Okay, Probably

You know … I absolutely LOVE this song.  And it seems so does everybody else.

This is one of the most “covered” new songs in recent memory.  Seems like everybody has a take on it. 

It’s called “Crazy” (no, not the one by Patsy Cline)  and it was originally performed by Gnarls Barkley in 2006.

Subsequently it has  been covered by a bunch of artists. From Beyonce, to Pink, to Nelly Furtado.  Some good, some not so good.

Here ar the four  very different versions by four  very different artists … Barkley, Shawn Colvin, Ray Lamontagne, and Katie Noonan.

From the Barkley’s driving staccato and rhythmic back-beat, the Colvin’s smooth, lilting folk delivery, to the snarling aggression of Lamontagne, to the relaxed, bluesy Noonan styling, I think these are all great.

Have a listen and tell me which version you think is the best … or do you like another version better?

 
 
Gnarls Barkley 
 

Shawn Colvin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dj_oEx4-Mc4

Ray Lamontagne

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6mEfDSP4g_U

Katie Noonan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kWQsV_v02CY&feature=related

About Judson

Late bloomer ... aspiring writer and musician.
This entry was posted in music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Does This Make Me Crazy? … Possibly. Okay, Probably

  1. nrhatch says:

    I can’t listen now since BFF is sleeping. I’ll listen tomorrow.

  2. nrhatch says:

    I listened to the intro by each artist. None of the versions wowed me. I guess this song doesn’t resonate with me like it does you and so many others.

    If I had to pick, I’d say I liked Ray Lamontagne’s take on the song the best . . . but I prefer him singing Trouble.

  3. Judson says:

    It is a dark lyric I suppose. Yeah, the Lamontgne version is my favorite too and I do like “Trouble”… especially since it was used in that commerical with the dog and the bone, lol.

Leave a Reply

