Life’s Pleasant Little Surprises

Life continues to sprinkle in pleasant little surprises and the power of social networking just provided another one.

Today, I found my elementary school Principal on Facebook!

So what, you say?  What’s so unusual about finding a school administrator on a social network??  Almost everybody is doing it, why not your old Principal?

What’s the big deal?

Well, for one thing, I finished elementary school in (well, let’s just say, a LONG time ago)  so you can imagine my astonishment upon discovering that my Principal is even still living … much less actively engaged in a social network on the world-wide web!!

Not only is he still alive, alert and active … but he remembered me.

That alone would ordinarily be cause for consternation on my part, because if he “really” remembers me, he recalls a kid who was pretty much a waste of desk space in his school.  He remembers a classic under-achiever who in all probability was never going to amount to anything.

It would have been a safe bet on his part at the time, and heck … I was abysmal in math class, but even I could have appreciated the odds.

But, my old elementary school Principal … whom I supposed was at least 60 years old back then, but who was probably in his early 30s … was a really nice guy.  He was well-liked and respected by the students, the teachers and the parents and he would have enjoyed nothing better than to know that a kid like me beat the odds and succeeded.

These are among the really wonderful things about social networking in general and the rise in the popularity of Facebook in particular.  It brings people up-to-date.  It reunites us after many years and it gives us a chance to start over with old relationships and to create new ones. 

I’ve done well, in spite of myself.  I’ve beaten the odds by finishing school and earning two college degrees.  I have a great family and I’ve had a successful career.

These are all things that I’m proud of, but they are also things that my old elementary school Principal would never have known.

In spite of the many potentially hazardous cyber-side-effects of Facebook and other internet-driven social sites, I’ve come to really, really enjoy the ease with which I’ve been able to drop back in on my past at will and to interact as an adult with people who only knew me when I was younger.

Like the proverbial fine wine, most of us get better with age.  But, instead of figuratively sitting on a shelf or on a rack in a wine cellar gathering dust, social networking has given us the opportunity to say …

“Hey.  Once I was immature and not of a particularly promising vintage.  But, over the years, I’ve gotten better and if you try me today, I think you’ll be pleased.”

I did get better with age …

     … and now my old elementary school Principal knows about it

          … and he is pleased.

Thanks Facebook.  You Rock!!

About Judson

Late bloomer ... aspiring writer and musician.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Life’s Pleasant Little Surprises

  1. nrhatch says:

    Enjoyed this post, Judson.

    It’s a ton of FUN to connect with “blasts from our past” on FB. Now I need to look around FB for some of my “old” teachers to thank them for being such wonderful mentors. 😀

  2. Judson says:

    Nancy — Yes, absolutely find your old teachers as soon as you can. Bring them up-to-date and tell them how much they meant to you. Almost all of mine have passed on now. I believe only one or two of my teachers are still living, along with my old high school coach. I need to re-connect with them as well.

    — Judson

  3. territerri says:

    I can imagine how gratifying that must have been for your principal… to be able to actually SEE the impact of his presence in the lives of young children. How COOL!

Leave a Reply

