Hurry Springtime!! I’m tired of being S.A.D.

Okay … so this is a whiny post by someone who obviously doesn’t know just how good he’s got it … I tip my hat to all of you who suffer from what my Yankee friends call “real winter” and I am in awe (if somewhat skeptical of the sanity) of people who think that the couple of months after Christmas are some of the best of the whole year.

     I’ve got the Winter Blues …

There was a time when I scoffed at the idea that a particular time of year could have an actual negative impact on one’s psychological well-being.  I mean, logically, every season has its upside and its downside. 

For the Mid-Atlantic area in the summer, it’s too hot, and in the winter it’s too cold … and everyone knows that true spring and autumn are not seasons at all.  You get a couple of weeks at most,  when you can really sit back and say, WOW! now this is some great weather!

I don’t want to seem too wimpy about the winter, because frankly a great deal of the country and a lot of the entire world would love to have the weather we have here all year round.  The sheer number of northern transplants that flock to this area of North Carolina to live are all the proof I need.

     Winters here are relatively mild …

          … and not that long. 

               So what’s my problem?

I don’t know.  I suppose I’ve become more and more convinced that there really is something to the idea of Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD) or the “Winter Blues”.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seasonal_affective_disorder

So anyway, so whatever you call it …

    however you describe it. 

          … I’ve got it.

Right now, I’m just sorta SAD … I guess I need a little therapy.

You JACKWAGON!!!

I eagerly await that 7-10 day period sometime in April, when I’ll open the front door and realize that “SPRING HAS ARRIVED!”

And then …

Before you know it …

 I’ll begin to break a sweat …

And you know the rest.

About Judson

Late bloomer ... aspiring writer and musician.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hurry Springtime!! I’m tired of being S.A.D.

  1. herby says:

    Whine all you like because the weather does affect moods, no matter what people say. We don’t get a winter here. It’s warm in winter and hot in summer so I never understood the whole SAD thing. But this summer, it rained from November through to last week. There were no consecutive sunny days and it got to me. I got depressed and didn’t realise just how much until the sun came out this week and I started to feel better.

    And if wet weather in a warm climate makes me a bit depressed, I can’t imagine how a long winter would make you feel.

    • Judson says:

      I thought about you when I was writing, knowing that your seasons are in reverse down under. I had a great time skiing Mount Hutt in New Zealand in August once years ago. Hope you’ve avoided all the flooding. Not sure where you are, but the news looked awful!

      — Judson

  2. territerri says:

    I am SO with you on this! I have been MISERABLE the past couple of weeks, so much that I find myself wondering what is going on with me. This happens every year, and later, after the worst has passed, I always wonder, “Was it really that bad?” YES. It is!

    Supposedly exercise and sunlight help, and maybe they do a little. Not enough though. Bring on spring!

    And I really don’t believe it has a whole lot to do with weather extremes. I think it has more to do with the fact that we’ve just spent a couple of months preparing for the holidays, celebrating, being with family and generally, having something exciting to look forward to. Once New Year’s Day has passed, we realize there’s very little excitement ahead for the next couple of months.

    • Judson says:

      I’ve always thought that people living in Minnesota had to be some of the toughest human beings of all. I mean, you guys really know what winter means! And you’re right of course, about the build up to the holiday season and the let-down afterward.

      — Judson

  3. nrhatch says:

    This is why we flew south. I got tired of feeling S.A.D. from late October until late March. There is nothing about the northeast winters that I miss ~ I don’t enjoy snow, cold, ice, sleet, or gray overcast skies.

    The only thing that I ever enjoyed about winter was a roaring fire in the evenings.

    Since we moved to the Sunshine State two years ago, I am MUCH happier ~ winter and summer.

    When the sun is out, try to spend as much time as you can enjoying it. It counteracts some of the winter blues.

    Loved the baby pic! Feel better soon.

    • Judson says:

      We’ve really got it pretty good here. Most of my post was in jest, but only partially. I am ready to hit the beach again! That is my very favorite activity … or should I say “inactivity”???

      — Judson

  4. Daphne says:

    I stumbled onto your blog after searching WordPress for Seasonal Affective Disorder and just wanted to tell you that your picture of the Jackwagon guy made me laugh and I wanted to thank you. 🙂 My SAD started about 3 or 4 years ago (and I didn’t event know it was a real thing before that) but this year has been particularly bad, I envy your warmer temps! I hope it warms up soon for you and for the rest of us!

Leave a Reply

