Watch Another Season of American Idol? I Don’t Know …

I sort of wish that American Idol had called it quits after last year. 

While I won’t call myself a “fan”, I will admit that I get pulled in to watching the show every year and once they get through the initial idiocy of the first few episodes and cull the total losers, I am pretty well hooked for the duration.

I honestly don’t know why I watch.

First of all, the best contestant rarely wins … ever.  There was no better example of this than the result of last year’s competition when super talented Crystal Bowersox was edged out in the final by bland Lee Dewyze.  I mean come on … it shouldn’t have even been close.  Since I didn’t watch Season #1, I can’t comment on the legitimacy of Kelly Clarkson’s victory.  But, from that point on, in my humble opinion, only Carrie Underwood has deserved the title and the big record contract that goes with it.

I enjoyed having Ellen Degeneres as a judge last year and was so happy not to have to suffer through another year of Paula Abdul.   Steven Tyler and Jennifer Lopez might add an interesting new twist, but I don’t know if I can take much more of Randy Jackson’s complaints about someone being “pitchy” … it just isn’t working for me, dog.

Quite frankly, the first few episodes are always excruciating to endure. 

 I know that some people think that the best part of the show is the parade of no-talent “sad sack”s who somehow mysteriously make it past the mass auditions and actually end up in the room with the judges only to suddenly be exposed as either stupid or insane or both.

Is this an accident?  Did they actually sound like Ray Charles out in the stadium only to become William Hung once they got inside??  I dunno.  Call me cynical I suppose.

And for the love of mike … why make individuals with talent suffer through the “group” experience and then penalize them because they don’t come across well with the three bozos they were shackled to for the day?  This makes absolutely no sense to me.

I could go on complaining, but why … it’s my choice to watch.

Well … not really … if I had my druthers, I’d have chosen for American Idol to have folded up its tents with the departure of Simon Cowl and the pretty obvious evidence that the entire premise of the show is wearing thin.

I watch American Idol because I can’t help it.

I realize I don’t have to watch. 

     Nobody’s holding a gun to my head …

          And this year, maybe I won’t.

But, somehow, I know down inside that I won’t be able to resist.

Sad ….

About Judson

Late bloomer ... aspiring writer and musician.
This entry was posted in music, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Watch Another Season of American Idol? I Don’t Know …

  1. nrhatch says:

    I agree with so much of this . . . and that’s why I don’t watch.

    One year, I watched from 12 finalists halfway to the winner. One singer was fantastic, but not very attractive. So she didn’t have “popular support.” But her voice . . . WOW! After she got cut, I decided I would not watch it any more.

    Loved: “Steven Tyler and Jennifer Lopez might add an interesting new twist, but I don’t know if I can take much more of Randy Jackson’s complaints about someone being “pitchy” … it just isn’t working for me, dog.”

    Anytime I’ve watched an episode, I’ve thought, “who you calling dog, dog?” 🙂

    Quick fix: Simon Cowell

  2. randy Johnson says:

    I haven’t watched a second of the last few Idols. before that I was one of those who watched the no-talents with glee, realizing that, while I had absolutely no talent as a singer, I at least knew that.

    I’ve always thought they let some through for the “entertainment” value alone. I rarely watched any of them past those fumblers(the exception was the year they did Beatles songs for a couple of weeks; my sister never misses and let me know about that).

    Even the no-talents lost appeal and I just pass now, preferring a good book.

    • Judson says:

      I agree. They put most of those people in the room with the judges just for the entertainment value. Makes my skin crawl sometimes to see how delusional some of them are and how willing the judges are to go along as they the “singers” embarass themselves.

  3. educlaytion says:

    I watched 2 seasons of the show a couple years back. I caught about every second and enjoyed it very much. Outside of those 2 seasons, I literally haven’t watched more than 2 minutes ever. I actually enjoyed the early auditions the most I think because of all the characters, but mostly because of how Randy and Simon were so funny. I was out before now, but this new slate of judges will keep me as far away as ever!

  4. Tee says:

    Great blog! I like your writing style too.

    As for American Idol, I went cold turkey and didn’t watch one episode. BUT I think I’ll be back this year. I like the idea of Steven Tyler. I have to admit–I kind of missed it. On the other hand, the extra time away from the TV was nice. It gave me time to work on my writing.

  5. I started watching a few seasons ago. First, it was only the finals. Then, the last half. Then, the entire thing. Finally, this past season, I did what I never thought I would do: I picked up the phone and voted. Once. For Crystal. I’ll watch it now to see how Steven Tyler and JLo do.

  6. Oscar says:

    Hi! I’m agreeing with you. I never watched American Idol from the start. Usually when it starts narrowing down, i hear people talk about it, thne I come in. The real winner never wins. I acn’t name the last 2 winners but I know the losers.

    Steven Tyler… as long as he doesn’t get too “rock n roll” he should be ok. Jennifer Lopez in fun to look at. 🙂

    Paula didn bug me. Randy – you’re spot on. (dawg) Simon was the draw. But I think its dead now. We’ll see.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  7. huffygirl says:

    Agree. I’ve only watched it twice and regreted it both times. What a bunch of nonsense, and way too many commercials. Then by the time they have you hooked and you just want to see who wins, they drag out those last three shows longer than Oprah’s last goodbye!

  8. territerri says:

    I think the last time I watched was when Taylor Hicks won. And has he done anything since his big win? No. (Well, I think maybe he did release a country album, but clearly it wasn’t memorable.) And I can’t stand the parade of idiots in the early episodes either.

    I think Kelly Clarkson deserved her win. I don’t know how much she’s done the past few years, but I do really like her new duet with Jason Aldean, “Don’t You Wanna Stay.” And there’s no arguing the true talent that is Carrie Underwood.

    I just don’t enjoy watching, but American Idol has definitely provided us some good talent, even beyond the big winners. (Think Daughtry.) I may watch this year out of curiosity, but doubt I’ll get hooked for the entire season.

  9. herby says:

    😀 I love the first few weeks of American Idol. I actually prefer it to Australian Idol (which is a very unAustralian thing to say). I love seeing the people who either know they can’t sing but poke a bit of fun and the people who think they can sing but clearly can’t.

    Once the season proper gets underway though, I start to get a bit bored with the concerts. I usually watch the first few and then something else will come up and I’ll lose track of who’s who.

    It’s funny though isn’t it how it’s so easy to get sucked into the format of the show 🙂

Leave a Reply

