My Awesome Weekend … (and my crappy Monday)

I had a great weekend, but Monday at work has started off badly. 

I hate it when that happens!   Oh, nevermind, I’m not going to talk about that right now.

My weekend was so awesome that I’ll concentrate on that and try to put my Monday (work-related) issues aside for another blog entry later.

Dad and me just before kickoff!

First, I went to visit my 85-year old Dad this weekend.  He lives in the mountains of western North Carolina.  We had a terrific time together and I know he is always very glad to see me.  Especially since he lost Mom last year and is now living alone.

We took in a college football game which turned out great since our team WON in the end!   We spent the entire day together and it was nice to get him out of the house and doing something fun.

Isn't she special? Less than two minutes old ...

 

I also got to witness the birth of my newest niece who came into the world on Thursday evening at about 6:40 pm.  This was particularly special since she is named for my Mother who passed away recently.  Welcome to the world little Mary Ellis!

The awesome Whiteside Mountain from down in the valley.

 

And finally, I got to fulfill a promise I made about 30 years ago that one day I would climb Whiteside Mountain and hike the rim of this imposing granite edifice, with it’s 1,000 foot sheer drop offs and endless views in all directions.

Another angle as seen from the highway

 

This is the way Whiteside looks from a distance.  You can see it from the highway below and you just know that if you ever got up there it would be spectacular!

A look down into the valley from the rim

 

Most people probably would not believe that this sort of terrain and scenery is available at the juncture of the North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia state lines, but here it is … almost a mile above sea-level.

1000 feet straight down! Thank goodness for the fence!

 

Looking down from the rim at the sheer 1,000 foot drop off is a little intimidating if you have even a hint of vertigo or fear of heights.

Thank goodness for the stout pilings and thick steel cable!

Not a picture-perfect day. In fact it snowed on me!

 

It’s about a 2-mile loop from the parking area and it’s not an easy climb.  But, once you get to the top, you’re glad you made the effort.

I wonder how far I'm seeing here?

 

You can literally see for 40-50 miles on a good day.  I could see cars smaller than ants moving along the road on the valley floor and a helicopter passed by at least 500 feet below where I was standing.  I believe it was probably the medevac copter from the local hospital.

The intrepid hiker ... back-lit ... on a cloudy day. Not much of a photographer!

 

I’m glad I finally took the time to get up there.  It isn’t easy, but wow, once you’re there, you want to linger.

But, sadly, I had to come back down to earth.  I had to leave my perch which seemed about as close to heaven as I’m likely to get in this life and I had to prepare to come back to work on Monday. 

Yes, the crappy Monday I’m experiencing right now.

But, that’s another story … for another day.

About Judson

Late bloomer ... aspiring writer and musician.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Awesome Weekend … (and my crappy Monday)

  1. nrhatch says:

    Don’t let Monday slap you around!

    Glad you had such an awesome weekend. When we lived in Winston-Salem, we LOVED visiting the mountains on the weekends. Hiking through the changing leaves, Highland Games at Grandfather Mountain, riding the Blue Ridge Parkway, visiting the Great Smoky Mountains, sunning ourselves on Boulders at Browns Mountain Beach, etc.

    Glad you had a chance to get a change in perspective!

  2. herby says:

    Oh wow! An awesome weekend sounds like an understatement. That hike looks AMAZING!

    • Judson says:

      I’d viewed this peak from ground level since I was a kid and just never got around to making it up to the top. Quite a climb.

      Most people would be surprised at how rugged and scenic it can be way down “South” … in the USA.

      No “sipping mint julips on the veranda” here y’all.

      — Judson

      — Judson

    • nrhatch says:

      I love Mint Juleps!

  3. territerri says:

    Wow! What an amazing weekend you had. You made some good memories.

    The mountain climb sounds beautiful, but I’ll take your word for it and enjoy the view from your photos. I have an intense fear of heights.

  4. lesliepaints says:

    How could Monday be anything but a bummer after a weekend like that? You were truly up there on the mountain, in there with Dad at the game and awed by a birth! I’d say anyday this week may not quite measure up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

