Neopet Nightmare

My daughter is addicted to Neopets

Or at least she was … until today. 

Today, I came home from work and found her sobbing in her Mom’s arms.

Here’s the story in a nutshell …

A while back, I lamented the fact that I was personally a little dim on the whole meaning of life thing.  I expressed concern as to why we’re here, and I got many helpful responses, several espousing the belief that we are here to be happy and to make other people happy.

I think that answer comes close to the heart of the matter, but today offered a troubling alternative.

Apparently not ALL of us are here to be happy and to spread our happiness.  Apparently a certain group of us are here to be jerks and to make each other miserable.

Today, some anonymous internet jerk hacked my daughter’s Neopets account and did irreparable damage to her … well, I don’t know what you call  it … I guess you’d call it her page. 

I’m a little fuzzy on the details, but bottom line, they screwed it up and she is devastated. 

When my child is devastated, I get sort of bent out of shape too.  But before I got mad, I needed to know more about why she was so upset.

Since I don’t really fully comprehend what Neopets is, I sought answers from the most reliable source I know … yes, I’m talking about Wikipedia.

Here’s what I found out.

Neopets is a website dedicated to the creation of virtual pets that inhabit the virtual world of Neopia. Visitors can create an account and take care of up to four virtual pets, buying them food, toys, clothes, and other accessories using the virtual currency called Neopoints, and Neocash.

Okay ….. so, anyway, my daughter is (was) addicted to Neopets and while I’m still not sure I fully understand the appeal, I do comprehend the fact that daughter is distraught over the loss of months of dedicated effort to create and care for her virtual pets.

What kind of jackass takes pleasure in ruining someone’s virtual world.  A place where there’s no money involved and there’s no opportunity for material gain. 

I just don’t get it.  Do you??

About Judson

Late bloomer ... aspiring writer and musician.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Neopet Nightmare

  1. nrhatch says:

    If she was older, I’d have all sorts of advice about this being an opportunity to grow in forgiveness, and to learn detachment from expectations, and to accept things outside of our control, etc.

    But, given her tender age, I just have this to say: poor wee thing.
    She’s lucky to have your and her mom to comfort her and wipe away her tears.

  2. territerri says:

    I really don’t understand this kind of thing either. All I can think is there are people so miserable in their own lives, that their only joy is making someone else just as miserable as they are. Jerks.

  3. mydarbydog says:

    I don’t understand the mind of someone who gets pleasure out of the unhappiness of others. They have to be rather smart to be able to come up with the ways to compromise these websites. Just think of the wonderful things that these people could accomplish if they focused on helping not hurting.

    Neopets is not a kids only site. Many adults also enjoy the games and activities it has to offer. This virtual world was originally created for college age players. Hence the very sexy faeries!

Leave a Reply

