Blooming Late in the Season

I’m a late bloomer. 

I believe this because I really have no choice.

My faith is based less on the certainty that I still have something important in me, than on the overwhelming evidence that so far, greatness has yet to make an appearance on my behalf.

At an age when many, if not most people are thinking seriously about retirement, I want to believe that my best is still yet to come.  

So what if I didn’t hit a grand slam my first trip to the plate … or my second or my fifth … or my 20th … so what? 

In baseball parlance, I’m due

History is full of examples of people who peaked too early,  I want to believe that I have yet to really hit my stride and that my big moment is just over the horizon.

Think about it …

In his 30s, when Alexander the Great saw the breadth of his domain he wept for there were no more worlds to conquer … and then he died a short time later.

Harper Lee published her Pulitzer Prize winning novel “To Kill a Mockingbird” at 34 and never wrote again, confident that she had nowhere to go from there, but down.

Isn’t it obvious I’m saving my best for last?

I take great comfort from the fact that Winston Churchill’s finest hour came in his 60s, as he lead England to victory in WWII.

The knowledge that Abraham Lincoln failed at almost every attempt to gain elected office until he finally became our greatest President in his 50s, provides me with a certain solace.

“Snow on the rooftop, but fire in the heart!”  Or words to that effect …

Not surprisingly, for a long time Churchill and Lincoln have been my most admired historical figures. 

After all, weren’t they late bloomers … just like me?

About Judson

Late bloomer ... aspiring writer and musician.
This entry was posted in history, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blooming Late in the Season

  1. ponauthor says:

    Judson – well stated. You might enjoy this. In our front yard we have an ornamental plum tree. It is 11 years old. This year it started bearing delicious fruit – for the first time. I asked the Arborist at the nursery and she said the type of tree we have is cross-bred, genetically engineered to be fruitless. Nevertheless 1 out of a 1000 revert back to their natural state (in one lifetime!) and start bearing fruit again. You are probably one in a thousand. The trick is to be an old soul when we are young and then grow steadily younger as we age.

    ” Those who are young late…are young long.” (Nietzsche) It is an art.

    • Judson says:

      Thank you for coming by. I really appreciate your comments. The powerpoint is inspiring. I do wish I could have had the ability to have been and old(er) sould when I was young.

      Judson

  2. ponauthor says:

    Judson – you might enjoy this.

  3. territerri says:

    There is a series of television commercials out at the moment, featuring retirees proclaiming what they want to do or be when they “grow up.” You’re not alone!

    Seriously though, I think it’s wonderful that you’ve reached this point in your life and still believe there is something more for you to do. I think those that think they’ve done what they are supposed to do and that it’s all downhill from here on have given up to some degree; lost their zest for life. I hope that never happens to me.

    I’m a late bloomer and I’ll continue to be!

Leave a Reply

